Documentation Requests

Hello everyone,

we are working on improving the documentation, and we’d like to collect questions that you want us to address.

So if you have any questions that the documentation isn’t addressing currently, or that you find aren’t adequately addressed, please list them here, so we can take them into consideration when creating the new docs.

Just some questions that i had trouble figuring out just by reading the DL4J docs and maybe needs some clarifications (and maybe i don’t fully get because i just started learning DL4J):

DL4J IN GENERAL

1. If my data are not in CSVs file what is the best way to build record readers (and sequence record readers)?. Let’s suppose they come from somewhere else (a database, an HTTP service…) in the end i would have data that are lists of numbers (Integer, Doubles, BigDecimals…). For classification i need to build datasets where each element is a list [feature; label] and for regression i need to build datasets from “ordered lists” where each element is itself a list that contains [nth_element; nth+1_element]. Using InMemoryRecordReader could be a solution for small datasets but for large datasets i can’t load all the data in memory.