Prediction of Disk Space

Hello everyone

I am new to DL4J and working on a first small project with the main goal to predict when a disk/computer could run into a “No space left on disk”-problem.

Would like to do this with an LSTM (Time Series prediction). The input data looks like the following:
timestamp; freeSpaceInMegaBytes

My problem: I am struggling with predicting the time step values after the training phase of the neural network and after predicting the test data.

Training Code:

for (int i = 0; i < nEpochs; i++) {
            net.fit(trainData);
            LOGGER.info("Epoch " + i + " complete. Time series evaluation:");

//Run regression evaluation on our single column input
            RegressionEvaluation evaluation = new RegressionEvaluation(1);
            INDArray features = testData.getFeatures();

INDArray lables = testData.getLabels();
            INDArray predicted = net.output(features, false);

evaluation.evalTimeSeries(lables, predicted);

//Just do sout here since the logger will shift the shift the columns of the stats
            System.out.println(evaluation.stats());
        }

Prediction of test data:

//Init rrnTimeStemp with train data and predict test data
        net.rnnTimeStep(trainData.getFeatures());
        INDArray predicted = net.rnnTimeStep(testData.getFeatures());

Goal:

Code which predicts the next 50 timesteps after the prediction of the test data...

Is such a use case even possible to implement with DL4J?

Thanks in advance

First of all: Make sure to normalize your input data. If you put in raw data, your output is going to be pretty useless.

You’ve got two problems:

• Timestamps usually are huge numbers, so they will probably fall out of the sensitive range of floats and out of the active range of your activation function (unless you use relu, but that may not be the best activation for your problem)