Inputing word2vec#wordsNearest only positive words in prediction step

Hi there,

I copy my same question from StackOverflow here, hoping for a more sure response:

Kindly, forgive that I am a noob in word embedding in general.

I have not only a word to predict similarity, but a list of words sometimes (sentence). All examples of word2vec in deeplearning4j train with a list of words but predict with a single word.
I know word2vec is capable for doing complex logical inferences, like what’s most similar to a king and a woman that is not a queen. But for my case, I assume it is just additions, like what the most similar to “a big cat”, it would be a tiger.

I tried:

INDArray wordVector1 = wordVectors.getWordVectorMatrix(sentence);
Collection<String> lst_2 = wordVectors.wordsNearest(wordVector1, 10);

Where sentence is a String. I also tried

Collection<String> lst_2 = wordVectors.wordsNearest(sentence, 10);

But it yields in the first nullPointerException and in the second an empty array, where I believe it shouldn’t.

I see another signature of wordVectors#wordsNearest accepting an “INDArray” but I don’t know what that is except that is a high performant data-structure.

Also seeing example here in “Tried using the wordNearest with only positive vectors” snippet, I tried:

Collection<String> lst_2 = wordVectors.wordsNearest(Arrays.asList(sentence.split(" ")), 10);

And org.deeplearning4j version = 0.9.1 is complaining about the type. Like one input is a collection, another collection is needed.

Any hints ?

@bacloud14

“INDArray”

please always make sure to understand the fundamentals. Stepping in to machine learning without knowing the basics of ndarrays is always going to be fraught with rabbit holes.

Dl4j 0.9.x
Dl4j 0.9.x is over 2 years old and shouldn’t be used. Our quickstart covers the main way you should get started:
https://deeplearning4j.konduit.ai/getting-started/quickstart