Encodable and ObservationSpace

Hi,

I am fairly new to rl4j and reinforcement learning in general. I tried to implement a very simple MDP (Snake) to gain more experience. However since the documentation is still WOP I have a problem comprehending how exactly the ObservationSpace works.

I created an Encodable to represent the Field of snake:

public class SnakeObservationSpace implements Encodable {

private final Snake snake;

@Override
    public double[] toArray() {
        // Deprecated method.. not implemented
        return null;
    }

@Override
    public boolean isSkipped() {
        return false;
    }

@Override
    public INDArray getData() {
        return Nd4j.createFromArray(snake.getField());
    }

@Override
    public Encodable dup() {
        return new SnakeObservationSpace(snake);
    }
}

snake.field is basically a two dimensional array representing the field. But now I am kinda stuck since the MDP interface also wants me to return an ObservationSpace. In the examples I have seen the use of the ArrayObservationSpace but I am unsure what exactly I am supposed to do.

Can someone explain to me how these two elements work with each other and what exactly I am supposed to do? Thanks a lot in advance!

For a snake game that somewhat works, you can take a look at https://github.com/treo/rl4j-snake

I started that as an example for RL4J, but didn’t have the time to actually finish it.

Anyway, the ObservationSpace tells RL4J what shape the observation it is going to get will have.

In that example I’m using a simple one dimensional array for the observation, as I’m feeding a simple MLP type neural network with a very specialized observation.

In principle the ObservationSpace is all about the shape of the possible observations. The Encodable is the observation, and therefore what you’ve implemented is not the ObservationSpace.