Accessing values of variables after training

I’m new to neural networks and I’m unsure if my problem requires a network or if I need to do it manually somehow. I’m not even sure if I use the correct wording :slight_smile: … so any pointers and example snippets are appreciated!

I have y = w * x where

• y is a result vector of shape 1 x nSamples
  • w are the weights and is a matrix of shape nSamples x nFeatures
  • x is an input vector of shape 1 x nFeatures

Where nSamples is in the order of a few thousands and nFeatures is 10-20.

I would like to feed the network with elements w_ij and y_i and I would expect deeplearning4j to train x_j and somehow return these values at the end after training. The difference to the normal use cases is probably that I do not want to predict y, but I need access to the trained “raw” x values.

Is this problem possible with a neural network and I could fetch x after training somehow?

Or, I’ve seen Ex2_LinearRegression.java, and it looks like this could work. But unfortunately I do not understand the details regarding the placeholderData, broadcast, minibatch and also not how I would use the gradient to optimize the x values. btw: could it be that there is a line missing at line 72 ala sd.setLossVariables(mse)? At least mse is unused.

(Or do I have to reformulate my problem into x = w⁻¹ y? But I’m a bit lost on how I would do approach this in that case.)

@karussell

I would like to feed the network with elements w_ij and y_i and I would expect deeplearning4j to train x_j and somehow return these values at the end after training.

The way samediff works is you just get a map back of outputs. That will include the outputs as a matrix. No deep learning framework (even the python ones) operate on individual neurons. That was a very long time ago that code was written like that. Everything now a days is expressed in terms of variables that are matrices.